My Struggle

What do you want?

You give me a mind to reason, and a soul to experience

and I struggle between this uncertainty and reasoning

The mind rejects, but the soul knows

Will there ever be harmony?

Contradiction will teach me, what acceptance couldn’t

but I will have to forsake my sanity

I counsel one, and the other gets louder

Is there any running away from the Pain?

Half of my life, I spent in lust of this world

shall I spend the other half

in this yearning, pain and longing?

You seem to enjoy riddling me

I can neither exist , nor cease to exist

of my own accord

A weakling I am, but you call me magnificent

I am but a poor slave

 

  • Sana Ali
Leave a Reply

